Leeds Triathlon – June 2022

Probably one of my best races of this year, maybe even my best race of 2022. For this race, I took a brave decision and was one of 4 out of 117 finishers to not wear a wetsuit in 16 degree water.

Following the swim, there was a long, uphill run to t1, to get onto the bike leg. I came out of the water very cold and in 13th, averaging 1.14 min/100, but without a wetsuit to bother with which was a big advantage. From a decently had swim, I sprinted full gas up to transition, overtaking loads of people and knowing they had to take off wetsuits, and managed to get into transition in 5th. I had a solid transition and ran out with my bike for a few hundred meters run on stones in bare feet to get onto the bike mount line.

To start off the bike, there was a few hundred meters of climbing, which was quickly felt in my legs. Over the hill, I dropped onto my aero bars and powered on, picking people off until I got into first, just before the end of the bike leg.

On the run back from the bike circuit to transition, I lost a few seconds because of the fact I was running barefoot on stones and came into transition in second. After an okay transition I was off onto the run. At the very start on the run there was a hill that gradually got steeper of about two hundred metres, which I pushed up.

Near the top of the hill, I overtook first position and accelerated over the hill go get a gap, which worked. Coming round the lake, which was halfway round the course, I realised I could pace myself as I had a decent lead, so I kept a solid pace to the end where I slowed down at the the finishing straight.

Overall, Leeds is up there with one of my favourite races of the year, and I felt really happy to win

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started